Feeding Five People on $100 a Week: Grocery List and Menu for May 19, 2014

I’m back again with my weekly menu, shopping list, and receipts. I know my weekly menu could be considered “boring” by some people, but this the is stuff we all like to eat. I’m ever-so-slowly expanding our list of favorite recipes, but apparently I’m quite picky. I don’t want something that’s just edible, but clean-your-plate delicious. Is that too much to ask?

On that note, I’m thrilled to have remembered one of our all-time favorite chicken recipes that had been forgotten about in a cookbook. “Marcy’s Barbecued Chicken” from the “Fix-It and Forget-It” cookbook. I’ve tweaked it over the years to our liking, but I served it once to my impossible-to-please Dad and he… cleaned his plate. And even complimented the meal. Wow.

So, here’s what we’re eating this week:

Breakfasts: Oatmeal Your Kids Will Race Each Other to the Table For, eggs, toast, fruit, grits, etc.

Lunches: Leftovers or sandwiches.

Dinners:

Crockpot Thai Peanut Chicken. Served with rice and fruit cocktail.

Rosemary White Bean Soup. Served with crackers and a side salad.

Honey Mustard Chicken. Not sure of sides yet, either salad or roasted broccoli.

Spaghetti with our favorite meat sauce . Served with a side salad.

Queso Taco Past Bake. Sides undecided.

Brinner (Breakfast for Dinner)

Marcy’s Barbecued Chicken with my modifications (see below). Served with perhaps roasted red potato salad and pineapple chunks.

Crockpot Barbecued Chicken

2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken pieces

1 cup ketchup

1/3 cup Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

Put chicken in crockpot. Combine other ingredients and pour over chicken. Cook on low for 4 hours.

Moving on to my shopping trip and weekly expenses.

My Walmart Receipt:

20140521-185131-67891251.jpg

My Walmart purchases:

20140521-185229-67949558.jpg

My Sam’s Club Receipt:

20140521-185351-68031977.jpg

My Sam’s Club Purchases:

20140521-185322-68002526.jpg

Please note that we do not eat five pounds of cheese every week. This brick is cut in half, with one half going in the fridge and the other into the freezer for next week. I try to do this with our more expensive purchases, like Nutella, peanut butter, and ground chuck — making them last two weeks instead of one.

My discount bread store receipt:

20140521-185540-68140124.jpg

My bread store purchases:

20140521-185606-68166875.jpg

My grand total for this week’s groceries: $97.56.

I’ve received several nice messages complimenting me on this series, and I thank you for them. If you would be so kind as to leave your comments here on the blog, I’d love you forever! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

